I was wondering if there were any good videos that would help with incorporating legato into your playing.
i wanna know what guitar players mean when they use the word legato. i came from a wind instrument background and was always taught that legato mean to keep your notes as long as possible without slurring.
DETHKLOK RULZ!
I don't know this sites policy on plugging or not. If you want to learn legato, you could buy John Petrucci's rock discipline. He does a good lesson on legato work, helped me a bit.
Legato is just clean playing with no gaps, no silence in between (I think).

A legato slide for example, is just a completely clean slide from one note to the next without picking the note again. Shredders use legato techniques a lot.

I'm not entirely sure if that's correct though, I'm a bit of a noob myself.
Gear: Lindo victory flying V, Orange 30w practice amp, Jazz iii guitar picks, mobile phone apps for tuner and metronome.
I think legato for guitarists mainly means playing smooth; like using alot of hammer ons and pull offs, and not doing any noticeable picking.
We're only strays.
Legato is Italian for smooth. It means to have a smooth progression of notes, with no pauses. So basically what Trey Spruance said.

Hammer-on, pull-offs and slides are all legato techniques.
Here's a good exorcise.

e------------------------------------------------------------------1h3h5-
b------------------------------------------------1h3h5-------1h3h5-------
g-------------------------------1h3h5------1h3h5-------1h3h5-------------
d-------------1h3h5-------1h3h5-------1h3h5------------------------------
a-------1h3h5-------1h3h5------------------------------------------------
e-1h3h5------------------------------------------------------------------

And for all four fingers...

e-----------------------------------------------------------------------------1h3h4h6-
b---------------------------------------------------------1h3h4h6-------1h3h4h6-------