Hi, i have been wondering about direct recording for a whille now and i have a few questions,

1. What is the best direct recording tool with effects?

2. How do you connect every thing? is it like, Guitar-->amp-->direct recording tool-->computer, or is it just Guitar-->direct recording tool-->computer.

3. Do i need a seperate recording software in addition to the direct recording tool?

i know its alot of questions but im a major recording newb.
THX for the help
i was wondering the same thing actually
Quote by Gunpowder
Just remember, you can't spell "Ugly" without "UG"

Quote by tands

nasstyman you are full of win in the same way tobacco companies are full of ****
umm i think i know what your asking...
- direct recording takes your amp out of the equation, so it would be "guitar-direct-compy"
- but you need some sort of direct box, or mixer to get the signal to the right level
- even after that, you would need effects and things

most companys make a box that connects to your compy that comes with software for effects and recording, usually all in one...for example, guitarport

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-GuitarPort-RiffTracker?sku=700519
UG MISSILE BASE
Fight for the cause!

Quote by RMC06
Donkeyman2341, you are my new god!
cool, my only worry is tone, will the tone be as good as when i play from my amp? I remember hearing somthing about the tone being as good as ur guitar, is this true?
well now your getting into a touchy subject...it really depends

- what kinda amp do you have?
- what guitar?
- what kinda direct recording emulations are you gonna use?
many digital effects can sound pretty convincing, especially if your amp sux, but pros rarely record direct but this shuoldnt stop you from going direct if you want to
UG MISSILE BASE
Fight for the cause!

Quote by RMC06
Donkeyman2341, you are my new god!
cool, my only worry is tone, will the tone be as good as when i play from my amp?