Okay ive been playing guitar for about 2 years now and had lessons for a year, ive been taking some tutorials on this site basic-to-medium tutorials...

and i can play some songs like that really easy one um smoke on the water or something

and a few songs like chord songs but im still pretty new.....

What should i do next? im not sure what i should do... power chords or what
if you got an electric guitar id say power chords, alot of songs are written with power chords its not a very hard techinque to learn. Maybe learn scales and arrpegios (sp?) and start to learn to solo, and of course learn more songs.
okay i know alot of scales... well some...

minor
major
minor penatonic
major penatonic
melodic
harmonic

im mostly used to tabs and havent done much power chords but i looked at some guides and it had a bunch of \'s and stuff like that... is there a guide ( link plx ) to a like most beginer powr chordist
a power chord is the same
its is played the same every where on the neck like this

e-------------------------------------
b-------------------------------------
g------------------9------------------
d--7--------5-----9-----------2-----
a--7--------5-----7-----------2-----
e--5--------3------------------0-----

etc.

like depending on your root note, your next two notes will follow by a string down and 2 frets over. so say your root note is on the 5th fret on low e and go down a string to A and two frets over, so the A string is fretted on the 7th fret and then jump down a string to D and play it on the 7th fret as well.

does that makes sence?

here take a look at this it should clear up any questions

http://www.guitarwiki.com/index.php/Chords#Power_Chords
Last edited by the_man101 at Feb 7, 2007,
Quote by iwanaBarockstar
okay i know alot of scales... well some...

minor
major
minor penatonic
major penatonic
melodic
harmonic