Right to start off, I have a squier strat and a dsl 401/mg15cdr. I use both.

I want more of a thicker/distorted sound. The mg gets quite good good gain, but I want more.

I have a few choices:

-Get new pickups in the strat (humbuckers)

-Distortion pedal

-New guitar

Which of these would you say is the best option?

I spose I could toddle off down to the guitar shop and ask the bloke in there. But my guess is he'll just try and squeeze money out of me.

Any ideas would be appreciated, idealy from someone with a similar setup.

Thanks
ENGL Fireball
Framus 2x12
Ibanez RG1570 - DM Breeds
Epi Les Paul - Warthog Pup
MXR 10 Band EQ
TS9
ISP Decimator
Boss DD3
EHX Holy Grail
EHX Small Clone
Dunlop Crybaby

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10rdcKp317I - New X-men Theme Vid
id say get a pedal. i think that would make more of an effect on your amp then new pickups or a new guitar, but im no expert
new amp new amp new amp new amp new amp

I know thats not one of ure choices but a pedal would only layer distortion over an already crap tone, whilst buying a new guitar wont make a massive amount of difference to your tone either if your amplifier is of low quality. I suggest you start saving...
Quote by Atreideslegend

I know thats not one of ure choices but a pedal would only layer distortion over an already crap tone, whilst buying a new guitar wont make a massive amount of difference to your tone either if your amplifier is of low quality. I suggest you start saving...

like he said.. MG's tone is reli bad.. the gain might be good but the tone is shit (hancing y u can't get the sound you want) i'd say save up get a new amp.. then think about getting a new guitar
Quote by musical donkey
cyclobs you are demented..... in a good way
OD for your DSL. Ditch the MG.
A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a closed-minded moron.