i have a fender MIM standard strat. I just got a good deal on a HH pickguard with electronics and two humbuckers. it's not cut for two humbuckers, so i want to cut out the dividers in the rout so that it will fit. if i cut out the rout for the pickups to make one big hole, would it affect anything?
Tone slightly, but other than that no.

Bodacious Bob

Schecter Omen 7 Extreme
Ibanez RGR08LTD BK
Behringer TU-100
EHX Metal Muff
Boss MT-2
GLX EQ-100
Marshall VS15

Quote by tpot06
Bodacious bob wins all.
Well, conventional guitarist's logic says the more mass, the better. I'd advise against routing out a swimming-pool for that reason.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
well, thanks...i think i'm gonna do it...anyone know anything about kent armstrong pickups? that's what came on the pickguard...
It all depends. There are Kent Armstrong pickups, and there are KENT ARMSTRONG PICKUPS, if you get what I mean. What models are they?
"Everybody, one day will die and be forgotten. Act and behave in a way that will make life interesting and fun. Find a passion, form relationships, don't be afraid to get out there and fuck what everyone else thinks."
Quote by forsaknazrael
Yeah, definitely a quality difference. I wanna get their Burns Tri-Sonics replicas...

I'm thinking of getting a Strat and fitting it out with them
"Everybody, one day will die and be forgotten. Act and behave in a way that will make life interesting and fun. Find a passion, form relationships, don't be afraid to get out there and fuck what everyone else thinks."