i have been playing guitar now for about 7-8 months, i teach myself from tabs therefore i only know the very basic normal chords names and string names - i dont know what each fret is and everything......i am generally good at music (i have played the clarinet for about 7-8 years and the euphonium for about 5 years) so i can pick things like that up quite quickly......but all i do is learn where to put my fingers for the songs i get tabs to, if that makes sense......

where should i be in terms of how well i can play guitar and knowing the note names and everyting, after 7 months of teaching myself? i have my own little band but we are still on cover songs and when we did charity gigs and stuff we sounded pretty good (so i was told anyway).....but the songs were all covers and i cant really make up my own stuff properly till i know all the notes and stuff......
You cannot choose the little time you're given in this world. You enter bare and unclothed, provided only with intelligence enough to choose how you spend your time. You always have a choice. Always. Though be warned, your choice can rarely be undone
well at this point you should be able to do just that - play songs from tabs. im actually surprised youre gigging, but if people are complimenting you on gigs then thats good. i cant stress this strongly enough - if lessons are even a possibility, and you want to improve more quickly, TAKE LESSONS.
^^Yes, take lessons. Theory is one of those things that you may not think you need, but as soon as you start learning a little bit, you wonder how you ever got by with out it. Song writing changes from good or bad to good or great, and so much can be done.
My Gear:
Peavey 6505+
Marshall 1960B
Schecter Hellraiser Avenger
Ibanez VBT700
Marshall Guv'nor
Marshall Echohead
Morley Tremonti Wah
Boss TU-2
Boss NS-2
EHX Holy Grail Reverb
Furman SPB 8C
Boss Flange