Hi, I just purchased my DS-1 from Muscian's Friend on January 1/31. It arrived in the mail on Feb 2, 2007. I started playing with it, using two Monster Cables that are perfectly fine, and I notice that sometimes when I push down on the pedal, the volume just gives out randomly. Like I set it so that way I don't lose any volume between distortion and the clean sound, but then randomly when I switch over, it sounds completely dead. There is barely any sound coming out of the amp... I don't think it is the cables, considering when I play them from my guitar directly to the amp, They sound find, and they can both play distortion and clean, but when I hook them up to the pedal, it goes nuts. What can I do?
-Roy

My Gear
Fender 60th Anniversary Standard Stratocaster
Washburn Lyon (LCT24)
Silvertone Revolver Bass
Ibanez IJV50 Acoustic
Fender CD160E-12
Guild Starfire IV
Some cruddy classical that my parents bought off ebay for like 40 bucks.
It's probably happening because the switch isn't switching properly. Since the pedal is new it probably just needs a little time to break in. If the problem persists make sure to return it before the 45 day period is up.
Member #1 of the Ibanez RG5xx & up club
PM tombo32 to join < 110% credit to t2russo

Ibanez RG1570
Tone Zone
Paf Pro
Aria STG-003DX
Traynor YCV50 Blue
Dunlop Classic Crybaby
Boss DD-20
MXR ZW-44
Boss TU-2
Quote by shuriken
change the damn batteries

Yeah, they ship with almost dead batteries so they don't leak. If you haven't changed the battery, that's your problem.
Alvarez dreadnought
Gibson SG
EC-1000
Homemade Strat (seymour duncan classic stack p/ups)
Vox Tonelab (original desktop model) with full board footswitch
Vox AD50
Ok, I did change the batteries, same effect

Now I am noticing that if I step on the pedal, and hold my foot on the pedal for about 5 or so seconds the pedal kicks in and then after that period it works fine, but to switch effects I have to step on it and hold it down for 5 seconds.
-Roy

My Gear