so

basically, the guitarist in my band, decided he wants to play more, as i lay dying type stuff
what with all the fast hammer onpull off type stuff, before we played thrash, like, old school metallica

and this change aggrivates me, because , im not really good at it, and I have no idea where to start
he basically wants us to play , fast, stuff

if any of you know what i mean, and have any ideas on how i can improve in playing/writing in that style
let me know

pissed off in California.
Kenneth.
You're saying you do old school metallica... That was pretty fast stuff... I don't see what the problem with hammer ons is?
AILD's playing isn't technical. If you could play Metalicca style before you should be ace at AILD type of stuff.
Although I guess the transition may be pretty strange. I suggest you learn how to tap; you should also be able to do mediocre sweep picking licks. AILD don't really use that (as far as I know, correct me if I'm wrong but I don't listen to AILD) because their guitar work isn't anything technical. Your band member sounds like he is moving in a metalcore direction and a lot of metalcore bands do sweeps here and there. Usually for verses most metalcore bands use power chords over palm muted riffs; they have little breaks here and there that include harmonization between the two guitars; the solos can involve anything from fast alternate picking, to economy picking, to tapping. It all depends in the direction you guys want to go. If AILD's style is what you're looking for then I wouldn't really worry. Just make sure your drummer knows what he's doing.
as i lay dying, faster/harder to play than metallica? o.O
i don't listen to as i lay dying, but aren't they screamo or something? therefore you must keep your metallica element in your band!

i listen to all the cool european bands, children of bodom and viking metal and melodeath and such...but i'm gonna suggest listening to some Killswitch Engage, they're good american metal