Page 1 of 2
Hello, i am a guitarist and am not in a band. My friend(who has no musical experience, just bought a squier strat to be "cool") wants to start a band. so hes got a drummer a lead singer, and hes gonna play guitar. I dont mind if hes doing it for fun whether or not hes good. BUT HE HAS NO BASSIST AND NO DESIRE TO HAVE ONE!!! bass is the backbone of the band. lead guitar crumbles without drums bass and maybe rhythm guitar (which they dont even have anyway.) When me and my friend explain this to him and my other friend, they say. "theres tons of bands that get signed and make money without a bassist." WHAT THE ****!!! are you trying to be in a band to make music or money??? What happened to the music? its bad enough modern rock has mostly gone to shit, now teenagers everywhere are into the mentality of just making music to make money. When all the great bands from the past wrote music, you think they had money on their mind? no. How are we going to get new GOOD music? are we just going to have to listen to classic rock forever?
Quote by eggo_boi_15
Arnt the first few things anyone learns on a guitar is

1. Nirvana - smells like teen spirit
2. Prince - Smoke on the water
3. White stripes - seven nation army

Quote by #1 synth
i figure as long as its not a puppy it's fair game for my penis.
You're complaining about people not "making music to make music" when these people are trying to make music? The sole problem being they're not doing it the way you want them to?
So you don't want people to do what they want for the love of it, you want them to do it the way you want it done?
Hella lame...
ummm im pretty sure you're allowed to do whatever the **** you want with your band. like my band, it has two bassists and no guitarist (obviously have drummer) is that wrong? no, so neither is having no bassist
Member of the Neutral Milk Hotel club PM Hamish5178 to join~
The Special Ed kid of the bass militia. PM DinkyDaisy to join

Quote by fourstringpunk