ok well this is my first build and i want some advice and i live in canada for the reason of suppliers
1. where would i go about getting the wood for the body
2. do some store carry guitar necks?
3. how could i make it a flame top
4.what kind of wood do i need and which would give me the warmest tone?
5. what kinda of paint would i use to make a flame top?

if i have more questions i will ask thanks in advance and i apologize for grammer but im used to msn:P
epiphone sg
MIM Fender Telecaster
peaveyvalveking 112
behringer pedal:TO800, UD100, EQ700
custom pedal board
goals for 0

-to sing
-sing & play
-have succesful first show
1. check the sticky, plenty of sites on there
2. Yes, same as 1
3. Buy a figured piece of wood.
4. Again the sticky there is some good sites there.
5. Same as 3
(I believe it spelled warmoth) warmoth.com is popular. Although it's not anything close to "scratch". I just looked into flame maple myself, and its a veneer or something like that. Basically a thin layer. It has a flamed look to it already, then you just spray over it i guess.
well the flaming i dont no how to do i would say look it up on google
um for necks warmoth has alot of varietys
and as for the body my suggestion is since its ur first build and (no offense but u will mess up , i did lol)good wood is expensive, i would practice cutting out the shape and the routing on a thick peice of ply wood first ,trust me it would be a good idea , then cut the final product out of the wood u buy
and for the body alder is a nice warm wood and so is ash
my gear:
Schecter Damien 6 w/emg's
gibson sg standard
dean performer e acou/elec
ibanez tone blaster=[
ibanez ts7 tubescreamer
boss ds-1
boss sd-1
dunlop crybaby from hell wah
Last edited by dimebag4eva at Feb 11, 2007,
yea i have a place to work on it(school) all the equipment but i just need a place to get the wood wouild i be able to get it for somewhere like rona or a hardware store?
epiphone sg
MIM Fender Telecaster
peaveyvalveking 112