Hey guys, so I've been playing guitar for like 4 years, and I'm 15 right now. i own a Gibson SG Standard and I don't have any problem with it. I am saving up for a pretty high end guitar, and am willing to spend anywhere from $600-800 on it. i was looking at a fender stratocaster because i like the whole retro thing, and it has a pretty good rep. I really don't want another Gibson right now, and i don't know if i'm right but i think the next step up (to a les paul) would cost me a good 2 g's, which I am not willing to spend, and can't. I just wanted to know what the whole deal is with the strats vs the gibson, and the strats vs the telecastser. (or any other casters). i need to know if they are good guitars for this price range and what i wan't, i am also expecting it to be know lower in terms of quality than my SG. I like the modern stuff, anywhere from Fallout Boy, to 3 days grace. i also like the guitar sounds in bands like incubus and taking back sunday, so as you can see, i wan't to get a lot of diversity out of my guitar.

i also have a 75 watt combo line 6 amp, and am wondering if I need a better amp to achieve the sound i wan't as well as a guitar. im thinking like a 500-600 marshall. but i also need to know what kind of amp i need for this sound that i wan't, whether its marshall, vox, or w/e. and i also need to know what amps will sound good with an SG or the kind of Fender that I'm looking at.

I know this is a huge topic, but i need a lot of help and it would be much appreciated, thanks
save up for a nice amp dude, a Carvin MTS is 850 and it's 100000000 times better than the line 6. also try the 6505+ etc...