So I need to write a physics paper. Im a freshman in college. Anyway does anybody know how I could relate physics to a guitar. I was thinking along the lines of the way a string vibrates that causes different pitches.
If anybody has any ideas let me know
Cheers
Guitar Physics have to do with the pickups of the guitar. Guitar pickups are magnetic pickups and how they work is that, when you hit the metal strings it vibrates inside the magnetic field created by the magnet, it interacts with it and converts that vibration into a tiny electric current identical to that vibration. This is picked up by the coil, which acts like an antenna, and then goes through the jack, the cable, to the guitar amp and that's how you hear that beautiful guitar sound. So this device "captures" the motion of the guitar strings. does that help any?
You could use that, and how harmonics are just creating extra nodes, hence the reason you have to do artificial harmonics at different places to create the correct wavelength.

Edit: or is it anti-nodes?
Rig

Jackson DK2M -> ISP Decimator -> Peavey 6505 Combo
ye do that the string vibrates and the and produces standing waves then how it produces 1st 2nd 3rd harmonics. or u can do how the string vibrates and induces a current from the magnets in the pickups. There is also amplification.
Last edited by stone_sabbath at Feb 13, 2007,
The guitar has very little to do with physics, why dont you think seriously what will get you a good mark. A college physics paper isnt perhaps the most important thing in the world, but you can write about something revolutionary, String Theory perhaps - the so called 'the theory of everything', or is that too hard?
Member of the 'Dr.Cox is my Mentor' group

Quote by Miggy01
I was kicking a balloon around, and kicked the back of my other foot.
I broke my toe as a result.
Quote by _Tenacious_