ive been playing for about 12 months now, 8 religiously and i decided to try my hand at the Solo of bohemian rhapsody, my problem is when trying to play this part

e|20-18-15-16-15h16p15----15-------------------------------------------------|
B|---------------------18----18-16-15-16-15h16p15----15----------------------|
G|------------------------------------------------17----17-15----------------|
D|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
A|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
E|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|

e|---------------15-16-18-----------------15-16-18-20------------------------|
B|-------15-16-18-----------------15-16-18-----------------------------------|
G|-15-17--------------------15-17--------------------------------------------|
D|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
A|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
E|---------------------------------------------------------------------------|

i'm just far too slow, i've seen videos of people on youtube and it seems effortless, i was trying to alternate pick it but its still not fast enough.

is there any other picking methods or ideas of how to speed myself up.
Watch a live clip of it being played and see how it is played.
Play it really slow alternate picking. Get powertab editor, download the powertab file and change the tempo.
it's amazing how many people think playing fast is a trick that can be learnt instantly
Althought it IS NOT how the tab is written, try to play everything with legato and sweeps. I mean, hammer-ons and pull offs. If you have a good legato, at least you could try to play it fast. But anyway train the alternate picking, you wont regret it in the future.
Guitars:
Jackson WRXT + EMG 81/85
Les Paul
Ibanez SZ320
Amps:
Peavey Valveking 112
Roland Cube 30X
Effects:
Dunlop Cry-baby