Alright guys,
Im a begginer guitar player, im 17, ive been playing for a 2 months consistently now. So I wanted to know what the differences are between getting a generic starter guitar and an esp standard for example... Other then looks, what are the other major differences? are the sound differences really that major?

Im an idiot and I just want to gain some info about this topic, to see if I should get a better guitar that would live with me for a year or two, or just use the one I have. Alonge with my "crappy" guitar, I have a Roland Cube 30X

Please help me!!!

P.S I like most styles of metal, especially thrash.
Last edited by nizorox at Feb 14, 2007,
Sounds, looks, stability, overall quality, and durability are all things that play a role when considering guitars
Guitars
Agile 3100 CSB
ESP MH400 w/ Trem-Setter
Epi G-310
Applause Acoustic

Amps
1968 Fender Vibrochamp - Great amp, only $100 fixxer-upper
Line 6 Spider II

REMEMBER, ALL TONE IS SUBJECTIVE!
The starters are made out of cheaper materials (agathis for example). The electronics are usually cheaper (switches and tone pots will give out soon). They will also have cheap pickups that are prone to muddiness feedback and hum.

Most of them will also be harder to play, due to rough frets and poor factory set ups.

For a "nice" guitar you need to spend about 500 USD
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 RI Telecaster
'77 Deluxe Reverb
Sunface w/ SunDial
MXR Carbon Copy
Crybaby

Quote by Sid McCall
Epic win. He speaks the truth, boys and girls.

Founder of the Neutral Milk Hotel club PM to join~
Quality of construction is the biggest difference.
Starter guitars are often multiple plyr layers of wood, whereas a quality guitar would gnerally have 1 solid piece of wood for the body, preferable quartersawn fort stability. This would increase resonance and sustain through the body.
Also, fretting jobs on starter guitars can be pretty bad. And then there's pickups....Tuners....electronics...
Lots of things.