hello all. im new to ug, but im a bit confused about my playing at the moment. i've been going about 3-4 months, but my progress went up like a rocket the minute i learned bohemian rhapsody (yay). anyway, ive also been doing the solo for stairway to heaven. yes, i know how every noob reckons they can do, but i actually can pretty well. my question is about bending. i think i might be 'cheating'. for example at the start where it goes
|------------5--------------------|
|--------------8p5---------------|
|-----7b9--------7p5---7p5---|
|-----------------------7---------|
|----------------------------------|
|----------------------------------|
i instead play this:
|------------5----------------------------|
|--------------8p5-----------------------|
|-----8b9----------7p5---7p5----------|
|-------------------------7-------7p5----|
|-----------------------------------------8|
|------------------------------------------|
the same for the bit that next time there is a bend at the 7th fret a full step i bend the eighth fret half a step. and at the bit that goes
|-----------------17---------------------------------------------------------------|
|------------20------20-----------------------------------------------------------|
|---19b21--------------------19b21r(19)-17----19-17----17-19b21~~~|
|--------------------------------------------------19-------19--------------------|
|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
i munt it up entirely and play this instead;
|---12--15----17--15----------------------------------------------------------|
|-------------------------15b17r15--13------15--13------13--15\17~~~|
|--------------------------------------------14-----------14--------------------|
|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|