Ok, I'm sure this kinda thing must get asked here all the time, but I'm new to the world of recording and would like some advice on equipment. I need a USB interface/soundcard for my laptop, with at least 2 line inputs and the ability feed both channels through to my pc at once so I can record them in audacity; I'm using a POD 2.0 so need to be able to record in stereo. I'm a student so keeping the price down is of high importance as well. Pretty much any other inputs and features are a bonus as far as I'm concerned, tho midi input and output would be good so I can access the POD's extra features and more complicated bits and bobs.

Also, could you recommend me a good pair of headphones please?
i don't know much about soundcards but you might want to investigate in the possiblitity of getting a small mixer that you can plug all your mics and external devices (like the POD) and run them into a single line in jack on your computer. definitely use stereo cables to link your stuff. most people i know use 1/4" stereo cables with 1/8" stereo adapters to plug into the line in or mic in their soundcards.

as far as headphones go, i have a relatively inexpensive Sony set that i got at FYE at my local mall. they're noise canceling. But, truth be told, they're really only good for the actual recording process. I've been told my many other... and it's in my experience that you'll probably want to get a decent set of speakers for your computer for making final mixes. there's a pretty big difference in overall sound because with headphones, fainter tracks, noises, and sounds are easier to hear. with speakers, you might find you'll have to turn up the volume on that particular track. to be totally forthright, i actually use my truck as a gauge for overall sound for my final mixes sometimes. it's got 6 speakers in it and an mp3 player so i just load the tracks and songs up and listen to them when i'm out and adjust when needed later.
Last edited by hetjr at Feb 15, 2007,