Which one of these amp heads would be the best and for the money?
I know avt= advanced valvestate technology with the sound and feel of an all valve amp.The gt1200h = flexwave evolution 5 preamp technology for tube tone and feel..
O.K. Any comments?
yeah, they're both overpriced. buy used or not at all. the AVT is better than the crate, but stay away from both. I have both, I'd know. Get a tube combo, you'll be much better off. Let someone else tell you what to get, I'm not very good at that part...

what kind of music do you play?
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
+1 with Sid. Just don't get those amps at all, very over priced.

How much money are you willing to spend?

What types of tones would you like to achieve?
Co-Founder of the Orange Revolution Club

-Esp/Ltd Ec-1000 w/ BKP Mules
-2-channel Titan
-Oversized Bogner 2x12 Cabinet
-Fulltone OCD
-RMC Picture Wah
-T.C. Electronic Nova Delay
-Larrivee D-03R
I play rock-metal. But anyway I've heard that you only get the full effect of a tube amp at full volume to saturate the tubes, and that solid state amps are better for in house playing,and you get the same tone of a tube amp at a lower volume, but still can be heard over a drummer.
^...which is why I prefer tube amps over solidstate amps.

Lower volume in tube amps DOES NOT mean it's going to sound like a solid state amp....and yes, tube amps at cranked volumes sound...so creamy *smiles*.

But yeah, just because you can't crank it and have to put it at lower volumes---it does NOT mean it's not going to sound good.
Co-Founder of the Orange Revolution Club

-Esp/Ltd Ec-1000 w/ BKP Mules
-2-channel Titan
-Oversized Bogner 2x12 Cabinet
-Fulltone OCD
-RMC Picture Wah
-T.C. Electronic Nova Delay
-Larrivee D-03R