I'm a beginner and I'm looking for a nice, clean practice combo. I have a few specific requirements though. Can you recommend a good amp with these specs?

1. HEADPHONE JACK!! (NYC Apt)
2. low-wattage but clean (tube?)
3. good effects
4. input jack

Tube would be great, but as a beginner solid-state would be fine. I will be playing mostly clean for now, but I really want some good effects to stay interested. My budget is about $200, but could invest a little more if it made a huge difference in sound.

edit: typo...
Last edited by arkistan at Feb 17, 2007,
Microcube ftw.
Co-Founder of the Orange Revolution Club

-Esp/Ltd Ec-1000 w/ BKP Mules
-2-channel Titan
-Oversized Bogner 2x12 Cabinet
-Fulltone OCD
-RMC Picture Wah
-T.C. Electronic Nova Delay
-Larrivee D-03R
Quote by Jinskee
Microcube ftw.

thats what i was going to say, Roland microcube, its got flanger, reverb, delay, tremolo, phaser,chorus, and its got 7 amp settings
microcube all the way
1993 Jackson Dinky Professional XL (shred)
Modified Squier Strat (blues and anything)
Vox Valvetronix AD30VT
Boss DS-1 Distortion
Dunlop Original Crybaby GCB-95
The Roland Cube 20X also falls in my budget range. What would I lose/gain by getting the 20X? If it's simply more effects and same sound quality, then I'll probably stick with the microcube.
Haven't tried the Micro Cube, but the VOX DA-5 is pretty neat I think.
Gonna Leave this town

Gotta leave this town

Gonna make a whole lotta money

Gonna be big yeah...
(Jimi Hendrix - Hear My Train A Comin')

flickr
You listed them as 1, 1, 2 and 4....

Anyway, Microcube is probably best bet.
Quote by Aftter-Forever
POLKA DOTS?!?!
well, that changes EVERYTHING!!!
vox advt30 or 15, lots of effects, and u can turn the watts up or down as to how loud u want it. and not the most expensive amp around.
Quote by add45
Haven't tried the Micro Cube, but the VOX DA-5 is pretty neat I think.

The Vox DA-5 also looks nice. Is it a tube or solid-state?