I took about 3 weeks of lessons and hated it. The teacher I had was making me play "mary had a little lamb" and stiff like that. For the last year i've been trying to teach myself how to play guitar. But i feel like im not nearly as good as people who have been taking lessons for a few months. I practice scales, read guitar theory books, and do some tabs and online lessons. I usually practice like 3 hours a day but i feel that i havent been getting any better. But my parents say im getting much better but theyre probably B.S.ing me. I can play stuff like stairway and dazed anbd confused(not perfectly though) as well as almost any punk song (perfectly). Should i try to find a good teacher. or should i continue to self teach. maybe i jsut dont think im getting better but i am. any advice?
Well, you don't notice yourself get better until you look back. Maybe get a teacher and tell him or her your goals and what you want to accomplish.
im self taught too and i can see where your comin from cause im not as good who have been takin lessons just as long if not less then me so try to find a good one if no luck then screw them
You won't like everything your teacher makes you do, but the faster you get it done, the faster you move on to better stuff. If you want to improve you should take lessons.
I had a similar problem. but as long as you keep hammering through the basics until you get them down, you'll be alright. It will be very boring and frustrating, but believe me, it will get a lot better. I pretty much taught myself after a month of a crappy teacher, and i'm pretty good now, could be a lot better if I actually had time to play everyday
Schecter Hellraiser C-1
Fernandes Dragonfly
Peavey Valveking 112

If I could write off your murder, I'd save all of my receipts,
because I'd rather you be dead, than lose a tiny shred of what I made this fiscal year - Dethklok