well i inherited a guitar 7 years ago from my grandpa and i am just starting to learn now, my mum said that first i have to get lessons for half a year before i can play it, i agreed with her. problem is we went and got it checked out by my guitar teacher and he says that all the electrics in it are ancient and probably won't work he gave it a try anyways he was right the guitar made a horrible sound and he just unplugged it saying just keep it for sentemental value cause u can't replace any of the parts in it and it doesn't work. i was pretty sad but it doesn't matter i'm starting out with prolly the crappiest guitar out there a behringer v-tone guitar amp pack...a big stepdown from my grandpa's guitar o well if ya want to check out my other thread and have a lok at the guitar go to this url:

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=523192&highlight=inheritence

ok so yea just thought i would tell my story plz post whateva ur thinking i want to know what u think about my story and i appreciate u reading it i know it would of taken some time to read.

Thanks
Chris
Unscrew the bit at the back were all the wires are, It maybe one or two wires came unsolderd, just solder them back on.
member #3 of the Les Paul owners club, pm Waterboy799 to join

Gibson Les Paul Std Trans Amber
Gibson Les Paul Std P90 Gold top
Gibson Les Paul 1968 Custom V.O.S.
1980 Chiquita Travel Guitar
Fender 2006 Anniversary
Ashdown Fallen Angel stack.
Agreed. There is no reason why you can't replace the parts.
Thats a nice guitar(your grand fathers). To bad it won't work , well good luck with your guitar.
the behringer v-pack isnt good for even starting out.

as for the electronics, it's all bullshit. 1950's fenders still play. just remove pickguard, and the backplate, and post pics on UG, and u'll be helped.
At the end of the day you can take all the parts out and replace them if you want, why would there be any reason that you couldn't?
You can fix it.
"Breathe, breathe in the air