Okay I had 1,000 to spend on a guitar and amp and I was a noob. I ended up buying a jimmie vaughn strat... http://www.musiciansfriend.com/home/navigation?q=jimmie+vaughn ... which Is a good guitar but I'm not sure... I'm starting to think I made a huge mistake not buying this schecter because I like to play hard rock / metal. they are about the same price, do you think I made the wrong decision?

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Schecter-C1-Hellraiser-Electric-Guitar?sku=513105

Did I make a big mistake ? or could I possibly mod my strat to get a good metal sound that I'm looking for?

this is the amp I use... I guess it's decent for practice

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Vox-Valvetronix-AD30VT-30W-Guitar-Combo?sku=481959
The vox is a pretty good amp, but you should of gotten either the schetor or an epiphone. You can probally still trade it in to your local store and ge ta decent price for it.
Founder of UG's David Bowie Fan Club. Pm to join.

Founder of UG's "Rockers against being freakishly skinny" Club. PM to join.
I think the strat would be better.
top axes:
Taylor GS8
Fender American Strat (w/DiMarzio pickups)
Epiphone Les Paul
well u could but a semour duncan or an emg pick up designed for the bridge and you could cut a whole (with a saw) in ur pick guard to fit the humbucker in ...or u could take all the pickups our and buy a brand new pick guard designed for a humbucker and 2 single coils if u think u could wire it correctly....the choices are endless actually
Nuthin wrong with the strat, and u cud probably get it to make a metalish sound, iron maiden always sound loud (and good) and they use strats. I imagine u cud possibly take it back to the shop n get a refund if u only did it recently
Change some pickups and KABOOM! A brand new custom metal-strat!
But anyway, the strat can be used for metal with it's original pickups, but it won't deliver like the sound of doom or anything
Hellraiser>Strat>Epi LP