I just recently bought a Gibson SG Standard
http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/product/buy_gibson_sg_standard_electric_guitar?full_sku=100295612

It was in the store on the floor, and it's black, but the store is ordering a red one for me. They said I could take the black one home and just bring it back when the red one was in. Well, I did, but I have a complain since I started playing it.

The sustain on it seems very low. Especially on the low E string. I played a single G note (bottom 3, 3rd fret) and it lasted only about 4-5 second before it just about completely died out. Could this possibly be factory strings? I'm thinking about changing them but since I'm getting a different one soon, is it worth it? I mean, what else could this be from? I know the sustain can't be THAT low. And it's not as bad on the other strings. (Plus, my amp setting stayed the same and my other guitar lasts way longer)

Also, the string action is a bit to high for my liking and I'd like to change it, but... uh... I'm not exactly sure how, and I heard that you can mess up your guitar if you do it incorrectly. If anyone could give me some details, I'd be thrilled.

Thank you for reading and for your help!