Page 1 of 3
Decided we ought to have a Desert Rock thread, on the offchance it might get some replies. So yeah, Kyuss, earlier QOTSA and Yawning Man kick serious arse, although I'm not really up on many of the others.

Also, Stoner Rock may as well be discussed too, as they're pretty closely related.

Bring on the stoners!
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
Yeah. Rock from the desert. Apparently only I've heard of it. It started out with bands driving their friends out to the desert, getting stoned and jamming 'til dawn.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
I think you've made that term up. Just because Josh Homme recorded some albums out there doesn't mean it's automatically a genre.
Dude? It's a real genre. Go to Wikipedia and see. It's an offshoot of Stoner Rock.

Plus, Josh Homme had nothing to do with Yawning Man, who basically started the thing.

Next time I've got a free minute I am so writing a UG article on this now...

Apart from the first Queens album and some Kyuss, I'm pretty ignorant of this genre.

Blues for the Red Sun and Welcome to Sky Valley are awesome albums, though.
And yet, to me, what is this quintessence of dust? Man delights not me: no, nor woman neither... nor women neither.
just because it's on wiekpeitka (sp) doens't make it true. it's a page where members can edit what ever they want on a page.
Cream fan club member #11.
Quote by P.B.
just because it's on wiekpeitka (sp) doens't make it true. it's a page where members can edit what ever they want on a page.