Hi guys,
I'm fairly new to guitar so bare with me.
I'm wondering what kind of things you can do with 24 fret you can't do with 22 fret.
What do you absolutely need 24 fret guitars for?
And what is 24 Fret guitars usually good for?

Let me know

thanks!
Sorry about that. (Forgot to search the forum)
I'll search the forum.

Thanks!
Well, with 24 frets, you can hit higher notes. That's pretty much it. Doesn't really take up much space so theres no sacrifise of anything going on.
yeah but those extra 2 notes can be established just by using bends.
Gear:
1965 Fender Mustang not a RI
Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass

Peavey Classic 50

id say stick with 22 if your fairly new to guitar
i mean ur not gonna be using them that much until u get to be a master shredder
the biggest trade off imo, would be you lose a whole lot of neck pickup tone. I still prefer 22 fret guitars compared to 24 frets, probably coz i use the neck pickup a lot
Peavey 5150, LTD EX400BD, tubescreamer, and a whole lotta fingers
Quote by SublimeGuitar

OK. While you're playing Serrana at 150bpm, I want to see you bend up a full tone to hit the high E in time.
Quote by Jongpil Yun
OK. While you're playing Serrana at 150bpm, I want to see you bend up a full tone to hit the high E in time.

You can always move everything down two frets. There aren't any open notes in there.
It expands the guitars range by two notes, not really that big a deal.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
Quote by felenoral
You can always move everything down two frets. There aren't any open notes in there.

Yeah you can move down 2 frets and be out of key...
Quote by Jongpil Yun
Yeah you can move down 2 frets and be out of key...

i would be in a different key, you can usually get away with that, singer-songwriters do it all the time.

Last.fm