well I'm just wondering how long was your band together before you played a show.
Almost a year, no gig yet. However, I'm the only one in my band who does anything productive....
Quote by SynGates7X

you are indeed mr. awesome.

Quote by Duane_Allman
eckmann88 you sir are a god.

Quote by SavageNights
Oh, you're so damn shallow, eckmann88. They have nice boobs, don't they?

Quote by DraketheFake
good job eckman, seriously, that last one alone would give me an eternal erection!

Help
Space
When I was teen, I had "bands" that lasted a few months and never played a show. The scene was VERY rough in my hometown and still is. Now that I'm a way better musician, my bands don't wait half as long.

True Story: Last spring I heard a local cover band was auditioning drummers. I contacted them and they told me to come in 2 weeks and to learn the 50 songs they covered. I already knew half of them since they were rock standards that I played in my previous acoustic duo (which is why it's good to have covers)...

I showed up at their band practice and after the first song, one of the guitarists said "you're hired"... We played about 10 songs that night which lasted about an hour off and on. 4 days later we put on a 4 hour show.

Keep in mind I was joining an already existing band. When you do that, you don't have time to wait around. If they have gigs lined up.. you need to be ready by then.

There was a recent event where a local band lost their drummer after a few weeks of forming and had already booked a very big show. I told them I would fill in for them for that show a week before it was to go on. They refused saying it wasn't enough time because no one could get down their material in that amount of time. They didn't even give me a chance to audition.