I've been playing for many years and I can improvise decent sounding solos all day using pentatonic shapes, blues scales and so on.
While I can do a pretty good Tony Iommi impression, and it gets me by in some situations, I can't improvise a shred/metal style solo.
I know the scale shapes (well, I'm getting to know them) and I can write solos step by step, slowly but I can't improv them on the fly.
Is it just a case of learning the scale shapes better?
Whenever I try it sounds like someone playing scales, or parts of scales.
Main Gear:
Ibanez RG550EX
Ibanez S470
Epiphone SG CS Ltd Ed 1966 Reissue
Cort M200/WS
Richwood RS17CCE acoustic
Hayden Mofo
Harley Benton 2x12 Celestion V30

My Band - Haemasmtha
You can try go Lamb of God on this and try learn an Egyptian scale.
Co-Founder of the Orange Revolution Club

-Esp/Ltd Ec-1000 w/ BKP Mules
-2-channel Titan
-Oversized Bogner 2x12 Cabinet
-Fulltone OCD
-RMC Picture Wah
-T.C. Electronic Nova Delay
-Larrivee D-03R
Think of how you apply the knoweldge you have now to your soloing. The extra notes arent hard to incorporate. Infact how you use a scale relys mostly on what kind of chords being used and your phrasing. I would suggest becoming familar with the major scale and how to apply the modes of it, once you've got a firm grasp on that it'll be easy to improvise and lay on the right notes.
i found it helpful to think of soloing as a type of singing. when people sing they don't just continuously put out note after note in the same timing. play a long legato thing followed by a held bend. in other words, break a 'paragraph' of music up into sentences and allow the different sections to be heard. it's as much of what you don't play as what you do play.
^That's a good way to see it.

I visualize sooing as singing also. Vibrato anyone?
Co-Founder of the Orange Revolution Club

-Esp/Ltd Ec-1000 w/ BKP Mules
-2-channel Titan
-Oversized Bogner 2x12 Cabinet
-Fulltone OCD
-RMC Picture Wah
-T.C. Electronic Nova Delay
-Larrivee D-03R