I was on www.musictheory.net going through these lessons, and i dont understand something. What is the purpose of Diatonic Triads? I'm still very new to any theory or basic knowledge of music (even though ive been playing guitar for two years, but hey, better late than never, right?) so please be gentle.

EDIT: also, come to think of it, what the hell does Diatonic mean?
If you want to jam in/around Mooresville NC message me.
Diatonic means 2 notes that are different. So a diatonic triad means 3 notes that are different hence diatonic triads are a fancy way of saying a basic "chord" Now when you start to add 7th's ,9th's and so forth these are chord extensions.
Also all scales are diatonic which simply means all the notes are different.
Consider the G major scale: G A B C D E F# you'll never see G A B C D E G flat, even though F# and G flat are the same note because all scales are diatonic (all the notes have to be different hence you'll never see G flat in the G major scale, it's always written F#)
Last edited by Zimwibwe at Feb 22, 2007,
Quote by Zimwibwe
Diatonic means 2 notes that are different. So a diatonic triad means 3 notes that are different hence diatonic triads are a fancy way of saying a basic "chord" Now when you start to add 7th's ,9th's and so forth these are chord extensions.
Also all scales are diatonic which simply means all the notes are different.
Consider the G major scale: G A B C D E F# you'll never see G A B C D E G flat, even though F# and G flat are the same note because all scales are diatonic (all the notes have to be different hence you'll never see G flat in the G major scale, it's always written F#)

Diatonic means that you are using the notes within the scale. Diatonic triads would be the chords that are created by harmonizing the scale.