Whats up guys, I've been playing for about 3 1/2 years and I'm going to be buying a new guitar next week. I've narrowed the guitars down to the Ibanez GRX20 or the GSZ120. From the reviews I've read these are decent guitars stock and they fit my budget. I'm leaning more towards the gsz120 right now but if you guys have any suggestions on which is better, I'd appreciate it. My main question is, if I buy either of the guitars, would I be able to upgrade the pickups to a EMG 81 at the bridge and EMG 85 at the neck? If possible, would it be a lot of trouble? Thanks in advance.
Yes you could. It wouldn't be that hard at all. But if you don't know how to switch pickups you'll definitely need someone to do it for you.
Yeah Dimebag is not the "Greatest Guitarist" of all time... Hendrix maybe... I must go get food to eat with my mouth

$250 for an amp? wow. is it worth it to invest that much in the amp?

If you would like to upgrade to active EMG's, you should go for the GSZ120 since it's made of mahogany instead of the GRX's basswood.
Quote by lizarday
oh yeah? well larry king the slayer guitarist owns bc rich guitars. (i think)
Actives pickups sound way better for any rock. For cleans, they arent the best, but do perfectly well. I have an Ibanez with a full set of Actives and its great.
99% of the people here who really, really know their stuff will tell you that you should upgrade your amp (i.e. replace it with a nice one) before you replace pickups.
Will says:
DON'T FEAR THE REAPER!
- SmarterChild - says:
I don't know if I can help it.

Member #6 of the "I play my guitar as high as Tom Morello does" club
Quote by Will_Minus
99% of the people here who really, really know their stuff will tell you that you should upgrade your amp (i.e. replace it with a nice one) before you replace pickups.

+1

what amp do you have? or are you plannin on buying one with the guitar?
KsE

You know they rock.