c4c as usual .its my first attempt to write a poem . so plz tell me if i suck at it even then i will still return crit

Words and ghosts disappear
after leaving mark on brain
sea fills, all white clouds
before it starts to rain

Along the water drainining away
her pearls of eye's are flowing away
all the words locked in phrases
are haunting mind ,but cant find places

hiding is an art ,of not to be seen
so you cant go to places,
where you have been
since love and hurt, are one and the same
i think its better.
if you stand here in rain
Hi
Last edited by abhishek21 at Feb 22, 2007,
Quote by abhishek21
its my first attempt to write a poem . so plz tell me if i suck at it

before it starts to rain
I don't get the 'sea fills, all white clouds'. If it's before the rain, why is the sea filling? Also I can't see the relation between the first two lines and the next two. In stanzas, try to keep to a point, then use different imagery in another stanza. I get the impression that you wanted a rhyme with 'brain'. Remember in poetry you don't have to be confined to rhyming, try half rhymes or even a different scheme if you're having trouble.

I'm not sure on the reuse of 'Away' in the first two lines. After trying hard with the previous stanza you could have attempted to keep the same rhyming scheme though. But this provides a good example of not having to keep to an 'ABAB' or 'ABCB' scheme. You've kept with the theme of water, along with tying the link to the sea with 'pearls of eyes'. But still, you seem to be dancing with the idea of water, and then a happening, giving the impression of two seperate subjects, making the stanza appear cluttered.

where you have been
i think its better.
Again, I fail to see the connection between the water and your event. Why is someone in the rain in the first place? What did the rest of the stanzas have to do with this final one? If you had related them all some more I think it would have improved the overall piece.