I'm thinking about installing my new pickups by myself but I have no experience with wiring or eletrical stuff. And I was wonder if I let Guitar Center do it how much would it cost? But I think I messed up because I cut the wires instead of unsoldering them off because I'm retarded but if I do let Guitar Center install them with they fix it for me and what not?
:
If you let guitar center do it for you I'm sure they will remove the left over wires. Yes you were supposed to desolder the wires but it doesn't mean you still can't do it yourself. Do you have a soldering iron of your own or one you can borrow?

If so you should probably practice [your soldering technique] on other stuff like some random wire and a pcb board or something along those lines. Practice until you get good.

If you need the guitar working immediately though I'm betting GC would be the best way(I have no clue what they charge so maybe someone else knows). Otherwise I would take it as a learning experience and fix it yourself. That way you know how to do it later on.
I do have a soldering iron and I am decent but I am hurry.

I have a quick question, on my friends guitar he just put the clear coat on and he needs to know how long it takes before he can put the pickups and stuff on.
:
Quote by forsaknazrael
Desoldering braid can remove the old solder for you.
As for installing pickups, it's pretty easy. There's diagrams all over the internet, and we can pretty much walk you through it if you're that unsure of yourself.

yea pretty much.
but guitar center or getting ur friends to do it for u might work.
i wire everything my friend gets for himself because he gives me car rides to guitar center. that pays for all. =]
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007

Source to everything I say about Guitars, Pedals, and Amplifiers: I make them.

UG's Best DIY PedalBoard