Hi, I know my tube amp sounds great when driven hard, but I was wanting to know when "cranked" is "cranked".

What are the knobs at on YOUR tube amp to bring out the greatness in it?

I ask this because at practice I had always had my gain at 8-10 (out of 10) and my volume at 5 or 6, but the other day I went to 8 and it was like another world completely.... but, coming from being a touring bassist, I was always told that if you have to shove the volume above 7, you need a new amp, now, I know you want to push these suckers, but I wanted to know what volume/gain settings you guys used.
Quote by HxCori<3
you sir, are the ultimate UG stereotype, praise a not so good metal player, zakk, put down other peoples playing, seriously say I WAS GONAA PLAYZ SOME UBER LEEDS LOZLOERLS~1!!!11!, and then critique epiphones as if there worth a second glance
when it starts breaking up and getting distorted...
Lunatics on pogo sticks
Another southern fried freak on a crucifix
Hicks don't mix with politics
People on the street just kickin' to the licks
Quote by rnrsoldier1461
when it starts breaking up and getting distorted...

Mine did that at level 5 on the volume, but it sounded really a lot better pushed even harder.
Quote by HxCori<3
you sir, are the ultimate UG stereotype, praise a not so good metal player, zakk, put down other peoples playing, seriously say I WAS GONAA PLAYZ SOME UBER LEEDS LOZLOERLS~1!!!11!, and then critique epiphones as if there worth a second glance
then push the volume more
Lunatics on pogo sticks
Another southern fried freak on a crucifix
Hicks don't mix with politics
People on the street just kickin' to the licks
wow.
Quote by HxCori<3
cranked is essentially...Loud

Take the volume potentiometer(knob) and turn it clock wise or up all the way to ten.
In reality the actually volume of a tube amp goes to 5 or 6 after that theres just more gain and compression
Quote by rooster456
Guitars will bring girlfriends. Girlfriends won't bring guitars.