I'm looking for a starter guitar. Something good, but not too expensive, or something that cost, sounds, and feels super cheap either.

And yes, I realize it isn't a gibson, but I don't have 2grand to spend on it. And while this is coming from a total noob, I wonder if a gibson really SOUNDS 4 times as good, considering it's 4 times more expensive.
I'd say just get a standard if you're wanting a starter guitar. If you're new to guitar you're not gonna tell much difference if any at all in tone. Unless, like, you're wanting it for the white/wine red finish, then it's your money man. I have an Epi Custom and it's amazing.
I do want it for the color. I want the white, but not sure if I should be so concerned about the looks and pay over 100 more. I mean the standards aren't ugly by any means, but they don't look as cool as the white.

But do the standards sound similiar to the customs?
Quote by FacingUsAll
For a starter electric guitar, I think the very best is a Behringer iAXE393 for the following reasons:

1) It's cheap. Only $120.

2) The 3 Single coils will help you develop your ear because of the different tones you can get from 5-way switching.

3) It's got a trem that you can learn goofy trem-crap on .

4) It plugs into your computer and runs off of amp modeling software so you don't have to waste money on a crappy amp that you'll want to get rid of later on.

Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
My speakers suck serious **** anyway. That guitar sounds kinda....gimmicky. I dunno. I fear if I get something cheap, everything about it will be cheap, and then I'll get turned off, when if I'd payed, 2, 300 more, I could have gotten something "good". Not "great", or excellent, but good. Like a C+/B- lol.
I'm with facingusall.