Page 1 of 2
Hi, ive managed to save up approximately £1100 for a guitar and amplifier. Im having some real problems deciding what I should do. Here is my situation:
Ive worked out that once it reaches my birthday next month I will have approximately £1100 saved up for a guitar and an amplifier. Im due to play a gig a few weeks after my birthday also (we plan on playing green day (yeah i know but its easy to play) and maybe some heavier stuff). Basically theres no way I can keep any of the equipment I have now, the electrics in my guitar are broke, I threw my amplifier in the bin the other day because its broke, so basically I have no other option but to upgrade. So, ive been playing guitar for 5 years now, and I like playing lots of types of music, such as blues, a bit of metal sometimes but not too often (metallica mainly), lots of old rock (Guns n Roses mainly), some indie (arctic monkeys). Im looking for a guitar that would suit all of my styles of music.
Basically, I decided that about £700 on the guitar and £400 on the amp would be a good ballance.
The obvious guitar that would suit me would be a gibson les paul, however they are double my budget. I have thought about getting an epiphone les paul custom but to me they are a "newb" guitar (especially since my bro has an epiphone sg and hes only been playing half a year, and i dont rate it to be honest), and ive been playing for 5 years now, so I dont really want a newb guitar. Secondly I thought about maybe an American Fender Stratocaster, as they are in my price range and you can get good bluesy/indie tones out of them, however there is no way that they could do the likes of Guns N Roses, unless the pickups were changed which I really dont want to do.