hello everyone. i just have quick question on amp effects and stuff. I went to sam ash today, hooked up an american strat on a microcube and boy was i amazed at the little thing. It could be because I'm a noob thats only been playing for 3 months. Anyway, I came home and I wondered if I would get better sound on a Behringer GM108 or any 15 watt amp and a cheap effect processor like a digitech rp100 for like 30 bucks on ebay than the microcube, I know that the microcube has portability, but the main thing I'm asking for is sound. So if anyones knows if amp+effects > or < microcube and its built in effects, please let me know! Thanks!
Quote by Blacksun
hello everyone. i just have quick question on amp effects and stuff. I went to sam ash today, hooked up an american strat on a microcube and boy was i amazed at the little thing. It could be because I'm a noob thats only been playing for 3 months. Anyway, I came home and I wondered if I would get better sound on a Behringer GM108 or any 15 watt amp and a cheap effect processor like a digitech rp100 for like 30 bucks on ebay than the microcube, I know that the microcube has portability, but the main thing I'm asking for is sound. So if anyones knows if amp+effects > or < microcube and its built in effects, please let me know! Thanks!

Stay away from the RP100, the FX sounds aren't all that great

If anything other than a Roland cube, go get a Yamaha Magicstomp MKII on ebay for cheap.

these units are great and I use one with a micro cube sometimes.
what im asking is, are amps with no built in effects + a effects processor better than the microcube for a cheaper price?
Quote by Blacksun
what im asking is, are amps with no built in effects + a effects processor better than the microcube for a cheaper price?

Well you could get a fair priced standard amp and a magicstomp processor for a good low price.

On the other hand, the microcube on its own is a great amp at a low price.