Well I went out to the music store yesterday with my dad, not expecting to get anything, but just to obtain more information of my first bass. I got there and the had two perfect highway one jazzbasses. One was an '05 or '06, in transparent honey. The other was a brand new '07 model, with Badass II, Nitro finish, and all that jazz. I tried both out, and they were both brillient. I don't know how I managed it, but I managed to convince my dad to buy it for me (the black one). The price was 750.00 USD but we got them down to 725 with gig bag.

Long story short I got my birthday gift two months early.

And before ya bitch at me for getting a 750.00 USD bass for my first bass I've been playing gutiar for 3 years andthis bass wil last me for years.

I'll have pictures tomarrow, maybe some sound clips.

PS: Tell me some good books to look up and some fun easy songs to learn.
Founder of UG's David Bowie Fan Club. Pm to join.

Founder of UG's "Rockers against being freakishly skinny" Club. PM to join.
Hotttttt damn. Lucky. The most Im ever spending on my basses is under 600. But thats awesome.

A fun easy song to learn is Face Down-the redjumpsuit apparatus
Yeah, but that means I won't be getting an amp for a while. I'm using my guitar amp or Amplitube to practice. The thing soudn great, and its so damn verstile.

Oh and I've bought some D'addario strings to replace the crappy strings the shop has one it, and the daddario's do not have the little cloth thingys on them, ya know the things near the headstock and bridge. Is that normal?

No reason to bitch for spending $750 on a first bass. I've always believed that if you are starting out, go with something of quality. It shows you how a bass should sound and feel, and if it's not to your taste, you can sell it for a good enough return. With cheap crap, you get half the sound and feel and can't sell it for much, if at all.
Quote by Cody_Grey102