my friend was showing me a song that he wrote and some chords sounded off. Another friend agreed. I'll try to tab out the 4 chords progression, forgive me i don't know how i'm new to this site.

E x x x x
B 7 5 8 10
G x x x x
D 5 3 6 8
A 5 3 6 8
D 5 3 6 8

i suck at that. but i think the problems are one, he doesn't know the key of his own song, and two the last two chords sound off maybe the notes a half step apart ( G and G# & A and A#)? can you help me out I'm new to music theory.
Quote by leading_theway
my friend was showing me a song that he wrote and some chords sounded off. Another friend agreed. I'll try to tab out the 4 chords progression, forgive me i don't know how i'm new to this site.

E x x x x
B 7 5 8 10
G x x x x
D 5 3 6 8
A 5 3 6 8
D 5 3 6 8

i suck at that. but i think the problems are one, he doesn't know the key of his own song, and two the last two chords sound off maybe the notes a half step apart ( G and G# & A and A#)? can you help me out I'm new to music theory.

not sure what u are asking but those are real chords.
well, since its detuned too drop D, the chords are G5 add 7 (G, D, G, F#), F5 add7 (F, C, F, E), then the last two are A-flat 5 add 7 (A-flat, E-flat, A-flat, G) and then up to B-flat add flat-7 (B-flat, F-flat/E, B-flat, A): the simple thing to do is to resolve or change the F# played on the first chord to an F; instead of fretting 7 on string B, fret 6, then take the A-flat chord and raise it up to A, that would place the key on F major/ D minor, however if want some tension then switch the last two chords and add one more chord to make it a five chord progession and let that chord be B-flat again. That would make the key B-Flat.