For those of you who didn't take lessons, how are you doing in terms of your skill level...how long have you been playing for? Are there any famous musicians who never took lessons, but instead taught themselves? I'm debating whether I should take lessons, or continue teaching myself...I tend to do well learning by books/dvd...and just by simply messing around. Also, I'm always tight on cash, so lessons would be hard to afford for me. Anyways, please give me some input, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks
i'm self taught.
check out my recordings in my sig.
and for lessons, just look at lessons and stuff on UG

most famous musicians took lessons, but they quickly owned their teachers with their talents.
such as jimmy page, ritchie blackmore, etc.
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007

Source to everything I say about Guitars, Pedals, and Amplifiers: I make them.

UG's Best DIY PedalBoard
As long as you know the basics and know where to go if you need to learn something new, you don't NEED lessons.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
I took lessons for about a year and half and was self-taught after that. I wish I would have gotten a real professional teacher because even though I was still able to learn a lot on my own, there were a lot of tips and tricks I missed out on. Plus you will easily develop bad habits because no one is there to stop you.
my advice.....get a teacher to teach u the basic knowledge you need to play guitar...after you have mastered all of that( literally mastered all of it) kick him out and get to the harder stuff

if those calises dont hurt...somethings wrong
My gear:
Fender Jazz Bass
Ampeg BA115
for bad habbits and tips and tricks, just watch videos of famous guitarists on youtube.