Hello all, glad to have joined the forums. ^_^ I've been playing guitar for about 3 years or so on my own (no formal instruction) and I have some questions...

1. Is it always better to play things in the formal position? (i.e, thumb placed squarely at the back of the neck of the guitar) On some songs I tend to wrap my thumb around the neck in order to get a better grip on the guitar, but I've heard that is a no-no. (I'm also wondering if this applies to electric playing as well.)

2. I'm trying to play Romance de Amor right now, but I have a lot of trouble with a particular section in which I have to full barre on the 7th fret and stretch my pinky down to the 11th...so far I've been practicing it each day, but I don't seem to be coming closer to succeeding and my hand hurts besides. I don't want to learn any bad habits concerning fingering, so is there another way to go about doing this?

So far I can sort of manage to do it when I sort of "brace" my pinky against the string...it forms a 45 degree angle of a sort...but is there a better way? (sorry for my unclear description...kind of hard to explain...)
hmm ur playing a guitar for 3 years..so if ur hand is hurting much , may be the three time is not enough for you...

it's on how long you played , it's on how how well you play..

ONE WORD..practice more....may be ur not that gifted but you can always practice..
about your thumb question many songs that ive learned to play *ie john mayer, doesnt matter if you guys like him or not, anyway the songs require you to fret the E string bass note with your thumb--so i would say it justs depends on the song and how you feel most comfortable playing
wow were u in a car accident or a plane crash that somehow enables u to play guitar! 3 years! u should be playin petruci by now...
"I can't live my life alwayz worried about what if....
cuz what if i die tomorrow and i never even lived!"