Hi, I made a similar thread over in the acoustic section, but I'm going to put all my electric-specific queries here...

I've been playing electric guitar (self-taught) for about 2 years now, and I have a couple of questions...

1. How do you normally work out the fingering for a song? Generally I feel I can play most songs pretty ok, but sometimes I wonder whether to use my index fingers, ring fingers etc when shifting from one string to another...should I adopt the "one finger one fret" classical approach, or just play what seems to come naturally?

2. When I release my fingers from a string sometimes, the string still rings...why does this happen? I try not to push down too heavily or lightly to minimize interference, and I'm sure my other fingers aren't touching the string either. Could I be fretting it incorrectly?

Umm, I guess that's all for now. ^_^ Thanks in advance!
Quote by Berabouman
Hi, I made a similar thread over in the acoustic section, but I'm going to put all my electric-specific queries here...

I've been playing electric guitar (self-taught) for about 2 years now, and I have a couple of questions...

1. How do you normally work out the fingering for a song? Generally I feel I can play most songs pretty ok, but sometimes I wonder whether to use my index fingers, ring fingers etc when shifting from one string to another...should I adopt the "one finger one fret" classical approach, or just play what seems to come naturally?

2. When I release my fingers from a string sometimes, the string still rings...why does this happen? I try not to push down too heavily or lightly to minimize interference, and I'm sure my other fingers aren't touching the string either. Could I be fretting it incorrectly?

Umm, I guess that's all for now. ^_^ Thanks in advance!

do what feels natural and try Using your pinky as much as possible, it will come in handy later.

I had that problem too dont know how but I fixed it. Just practice i guess sorry