Page 1 of 2
Hi all,

I'm pretty new here, but I've got a pretty interesting question. I just turned 22 years old and got into the guitar. I have had no formal training (except in Voice), and am a complete newbie. However, I'm feeling pretty comfortable with playing scales and the Gone Jackals songs pretty well at this point.

I've heard here and there that it's tough for "adults" to get into guitar and learn it to the professional level, versus a 5 year old virtuoso who is Jimmy Page by age 12. I was wondering of your thoughts and opinions regarding this. Does age really slow down music learning that much?

The music I'm practicing consists of Marilyn Manson, Thrice, The Gone Jackals, as well as scales. I practice around an hour or two a night, first scales and stretching, then learning a song or two.

As far as people telling me this, I just tell them that if a 22 year old has never gotten good at the guitar before, then I will be the first
It doesn't matter how old you are. No, you'll never be as good as you could have been had you started younger. That's not what matters. What matters is, will you enjoy it? If you like doing it, do it.
I <3 bangoodcharlotte

Quote by humperdunk
one time i let my cat has cheezburger. i thought it was pretty funny.
just dont give up and you will do fine
Guitars:
Ibanez IC300
Fender American Strat w/RioGrande texas specials

Amps:
Fender FM212R
a now broken tube amp

Quote by Gofishus
Dual Core. Do More. <-- Intel branded women.

Member of the Stevie Ray Vaughan Fan Club
Nice guitar.

If you dedicate time to practice and playing, you could become a great guitarist.

The truth is, you're still young (that sounds weird coming from a 16 year old), and have plenty of time to become an amazing musician.

However, I wouldn't get my hopes up about becoming famous, for few are able to, but in terms of becoming good at the instrument, it's all based upon your dedication.