Hi,
I started playing guitar about nine or twelve monts ago, and right from the bat I got myself a Jackson JS30Ke Kelly begginer's guitar, and have since then picked up a Randall RG75D amplifier. To be completely frank, I am quite happy with my gear when it comes to rythm playing, but as I have gotten more and more into leads recently, I am starting to feel like my gear is holding me back (or rather, my guitar is).
So I scoured the market for a possible replacement for my ol' axe, but I found none that seemed just right for me, hence my desire to build one on my own.

Now, I am still new to this whole guitar bussines, and I can't honestly say I know every type of wood and every pickup out there, I find the opposite to be quite true really, but I have done some research and this is what I've learned so far:

• I want a mahogany body and neck
  • A rosewood fretboard with 24 jumbo frets
  • A Seymour Duncan '59 neck pickup for cleans
  • A reversed Bill Lawrence L500XL bride pickup for distorded playing
  • A Floyd Rose tremolo bridge
  • One tone and volume knob

The shape I am going for will probably look a lot like the old Washburn Culprit (pictured here), but with a different finnish and without the pickguard.

So, any thoughts or suggestions? Are there any other pickups I should consider, tips about building a guitar with a Floyd Rose etc.?
If you are really observant you will have noticed it's the same pickups Dimebag used on his old Dean guitars, and this is very much something I was aware of when I chose the pickups. I am going for a really heavy and chuncy sound, but I also want to have the option of playing beutiful clean passages like the intro to Hollow, and I figure this is one setup that will allow that kind of flexibility.
I'm pretty much new to the whole guitar world....but i've heard EMG-81's are good pickups.....but because they are active...i beleive you'll have to build a powersupply for them...