Okay so I've been playing guitar for 8 months now and I was thinkin its about time to upgrade from my beginner Dean Playmate and I would like some suggestions. There is no set price range but nothing extreme and I would like a guitar that is great for playing punk rock and classic rock.
This is a monument to our everything before forever comes crashing. - Converge
try looking in a used guitar store cause you can get a better guitar for less than a new one
Guitars:
Ibanez IC300
Fender American Strat w/RioGrande texas specials

Amps:
Fender FM212R
a now broken tube amp

Quote by Gofishus
Dual Core. Do More. <-- Intel branded women.

Member of the Stevie Ray Vaughan Fan Club
^ that's true. But are you any good? not to be ignorant, but you don't want to spend money on something you're not going to use. But if so, a Epi Les paul would be nice
lol I would like to think I'm good I can play some basic stuff from Blink-182 and New Found Glory but nothing really amazing like high solo's. And what's the difference between an Epi LP and a Gibson LP and Gibson SG to a Epi SG my friends all say Gibson is 10 times better than Epi but I think they have a little bias towards the brand.
biggest difference = price

i hear form a lot of people that own epis that they are just as good as gibsons, then again idk if they have ever played a gibson either. but as i said, price is biggest difference. a cheap gibson les paul is $1000 and a cheap epi les paul is $400. Unless $1000 will end up in your price range, if you wanna les paul, get the epi
well i would say a hss strat. great versatility, or an Epiphone Les Paul, but what amp will you be using?
I am using a Crate GT15w amp. on another note whats the differences between the sound i can get from humbuckers and single coils. thanks for all the help!
single coils are a little twangier, and humbuckers are a little chunkier.