I want to improve my picking speed and coordination, and eventually shred. However, I am not sure where to start. My main question is if practicing chromatic excercises to a metronome is a way to improve my speed. Would I just be able to play chromatics faster by following this path? Or will it speed up all of my playing including new riffs. If not will I have to repeat the metronome process with every riff I want to learn? Thank you.
Hey,

I'm pretty knew to shredding myself. I've been playing for about nine years now and never bothered to expand my lead beyond basic penatonic licks. Recently I've been watching all the videos I could find from Kristofer Dahl on this site. He's got a bunch of exercises and tabs and explains things really well (I think so anyways). I've only been at it a short while and have noticed a huge difference in my approach to practicing as well as some small increases in my speed, you should check it out:

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/columns/features/shred_masterclass_tapping_n_arpeggios.html

He's got about ten videos so far, and I've learned something new from each and every one of them.
Quote by solace2718
I want to improve my picking speed and coordination, and eventually shred. However, I am not sure where to start. My main question is if practicing chromatic excercises to a metronome is a way to improve my speed. Would I just be able to play chromatics faster by following this path? Or will it speed up all of my playing including new riffs. If not will I have to repeat the metronome process with every riff I want to learn? Thank you.