Hey guys,

I'm a fairly noob player, and I currently have a $90 P.O.S. guitar that I'm practicing with. I suspect in a few months, I'll want to buy a 6-string real axe, and I need suggestions. I'm not willing to spend more than 500 dollars, but I'd like a guitar that's good enough to keep for many years as I get better (aka I'm not looking for crap like squier). I've heard good things about Ibanez RG and S's. The problem is that the RG is very metal and I'm not sure I'm committed to playing just really hard rock. Does anyone have any suggestions?
epiphone les pauls are great for the price and so are fender standard strats(the mexican made ones) either a stadard strat(SSS configuration) or a fat strat(HSS configuration)
Well, we need to know a bit more. What music do you like to play, listen to etc. Do you favor any specific brands in that price range?
I have a fender mexicaster... sounds good spent $550 on it. I would also recommend a jackons dinky or soloist edition.
get an epi dot semi-hollow body, great for rock, blues and garage shit, but prolly wouldn't be that good for metal (but i don't play metal so i wouldn't really know)
Well, I'd like a versatile guitar. I guess some example music that I'd like to play would be stuff like RHCP, Offspring, arctic monkeys, audioslave, etc (just some random bands), but I'd like to play stuff that's a bit grungier too.
Hardtail RGs. Then pickup swap.
Gear...
Peavey 5150, Squier, Ibanez RG2EX2, Yamaha F150, Ibanez RT150, MXR noisegate
I got my PRS SE Singlecut for under $500
Guitar:
PRS Tremonti

Amp:
Bluetron Bluedrive
Ducted Port 1x12
Jensen Mod 12-110

Wants:
59/09's or Standard T&B
I'm a bit afraid to purchase a fender or gibson since their name brand means their cheap guitars must be really crappy. I don't trust their respective discount brands either. Aside from ibanez, are there any other brands that sell quality cheap guitars?