Just wondering. I picked up a new bass/amp the other day and I plugged my reg guitar into the amp and it gives a nice brand new sound that I enjoy. Will this hurt my rig in any way?
Nope.
Guitars:
1997 Guild Bluesbird
Gibson Les Paul Bfg
Acoustics
Ibanez GSR200FM Bass
Amps:
Bugera V55HD w/avatar cab
Fender Champ 600 with 4 ohm cab
70s traynor 200w head with 2 9x8 cabs for bass
Its ok i guess, but don't crank up the volume and add too much distortion. Stop if you smell something burning
if you got nothing good to say say nothing at all.
Well I do it sometimes as well (Peavey Microbass, our band uses it for the vocal microfone when were practising as well, really versatile little bitch :P) and it sounds quite good, just to practise stuff. Don't think you can damage your amp with guitar, but I'm not an expert on that :P
Make cupcakes, not war

Member #27 of the Electroharmonix users guild
Its not going to do any harm per se if you don't add too much distortion, but the high end is going to sound odd and weak, for lack of a better term.
NO...don't ever. The bass amp is NOT used to the guitar's high frequencies. It'll rip the amp's speakers right off.
My gear:
Fender Jazz Bass
Ampeg BA115
Im not gonna crank it too much, that would just be silly. I just figured playing bass through a guitar amp messes it up, so playing guitar through a bass amp might not be a good idea. Anywho Ill keep at it, you guys keep rocking too

edit**
whack a bass---

for sure? Damnit.
Last edited by |2eM!x at Mar 3, 2007,
Older blues players used to use bass amps because they preferred the tones they got, it won't hurt the amp at all, my guitarist usually uses my bass amp at practices
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!