Hi, I'm new here To skip the BS scroll down for the questions

I just started playing the electric guitar last month, spur of the moment thing(but a big fan of guitar ever since I heard my dad's aerosmith casette tape), I was at a local mall and just decided to buy me an Ibanez (rg2550ex, it looks cool so I bought it) and some amp(Marshall AVT20 something, looked big enough for a first amp), yes I totally have no idea if what I bought was decent. I've been playing piano(was forced to) since I was 8.. it's gotten kind of boring now (I'm 21) so I decided to take up guitar, since I'll be having one whole year free and I'd rather spend my time teaching myself guitar than letting my brain rot playing online games/Xbox

The first song I tought myself to play(Guitar Pro speed trainer is amazing) is Mr. Crowley(<3 Randy Rhoads), I can play the solos decently, but I still sometimes **** up.

I practice 5+ hours a day(since last month), it's also getting easier to play longer since my fingertips on my left hand are getting mutated ( having calluses )

Questions:
Can a complete newbie expect to be able to play much more difficult music like Vai,DT stuff in a year? Or am I too old to be able to play stuff that difficult and I should stick to piano? lol

The stuff I bought(Ibanez RG2550ex and a Marshall AVT20 amp) any good, for a beginner at least? I don't know **** so I picked a guitar that looked cool, and bought it.
i've been playing for 3 years now and i cant play vai's fast stuff. ibanez rgs are in general great imo, and the marshall is good too. a lot of people will tell you "omfg you should get an all-valve thing and avoid all others like the plague!", or, more simply "avt's are shit" but imo they're fine for a beginner. i only got my first valve amp last month, cos my beginning amp was fine for me.
If you bust your ass maybe... Dont give up
I like your Christ; I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.
-Mohandas Gandhi