Ive been playing for about 4 years and Im not that fast (the fastest song I play is probably something like Texas Flood by SRV) and im a bit sloppy. Im overall an ok player but I want to know if maybe theres something wrong with my technique that is making me slow down. Is this anchoring?
Attachments:
Anchor 1.jpg
Anchor 2.jpg
My Gear:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster
Epiphone Sheraton II
Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue
Teese RMC Picture Wah
MXR Carbon Copy
Keeley Modded TS9
Korg Pitchblack
Schecter Omen 6
Dean Performer Acoustic

Yep, that's anchoring.
Member #6 of the Agile LP over Epiphone LP Club. PM iamtehwalrus768 to join.
When it comes to flipping pancakes, it's better than burgers.
is it really that bad? how am i supposed to hold it, got any pics?
My Gear:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster
Epiphone Sheraton II
Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue
Teese RMC Picture Wah
MXR Carbon Copy
Keeley Modded TS9
Korg Pitchblack
Schecter Omen 6
Dean Performer Acoustic

nah thats not anchoring, that looks more like palm muting to me..

Anchoring is usually when you hold the pick with your thumb and first finger, and then press your pinky/ring finger/both down on the pickguard in order to "anchor" your hand, so you can hold it up off the strings and bring it back down to mute whenever you want.
That's just normal playing man, same how I do it.
Duke Ellington - If it sounds good, it is good.
I'm pretty sure that doesn't count as anchoring, considering just about every guitarist I've ever seen who doesn't anchor does that. (Rusty Cooley, Paul Gilbert, Buckethead, etc)
Quote by Paul Gilbert
GET OUT OF MY YARD
Anchoring is touching the guitar with your picking hand while you play.

I do it.

*shrug*

People who talk about the wonders of not anchoring always say how the guitar sounds better because it has more freedom to resonate.
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89