First off, if you have anything negative to say, keep it to yourself. I have been playing guitar for about 5 years but I've only started to REALLY play guitar and get into it for the last 3 months. I'm starting to learn everything I can, lately it's been pickups and the different typs of them...

So, I have a Kirk Hammett signature (lesser model) 202. I bought it with my limited experience, but it seemed to have what I wanted at the time for a decent price: good action, floating trem, 24 frets; definitely an upgrade from the shitty $112.00 squire I had for YEARS. Yuck.

Now, the more I learn, the more I know what I want in a guitar. Lately I've been obsessing over Steve Vai, and I absolutely love the sound he has, and I've decided that I pretty much want the sound he has. I understand that body materials, the way the neck is connected to the body and stuff like that affect tone and sound. So I know I won't be able to copycat the sound of the JEM, but that's cool, I just mainly love the pickups he selected.

(Main) Situation 1: Pickups (I'm workin with the hardware I've got here people)

Right now I've been learning about the difference between active and passive pickups. I have also learned that my KH-202 is pretty much the only model in the line of KH signature guitars that has passives instead of actives (dammit). Here's what I want to do: take out the EMGs, which really aren't as good as I've heard they were, and put in an active DiMarzio Evolution neck humbucker and an active Evo 2 bridge humbucker. I honestly don't know if this is a stupid sounding idea to you; I honestly just don't have the experience to tell. As stated above, I can't be buying another guitar to make this easier. I know it sounds like taking an older car that's automatic and making it a stick. Anyone would tell you,"Dude, just buy a new car." But I can't be spending money on a new guitar. I just don't have it.