I am new to playing and just got started with my first acoustic . I can play some songs, BUT once I start to try and sing I lose it and get all off beat. I am not sure how to correct this or work on it. Anyone have any advice. Thanks guys

CantSee
Amy Lee =
The solution to most problems: PRACTICE! Get so that you can really easily play the song without thinking about it, and then try singing over it. Maybe try playing along with the cd to keep you on beat. Start with something easy.
when i first started playing guitar i found it pretty difficult to sing and play at the same time. But i think as you get better on the guitar, the easier it becomes to sing and play at the same time. it helped me to think of the beat in my head and sing and play right on the beat. also, try to learn the songs well on guitar alone, and singing alone; then put them together and it should be easier.

hope that helped

Tothelighthouse
It all depends on the song. I found Wish You Were Here to be an easy sing, as was Hurt by Johnny Cash. You have to play it a lot, as mentioned above, so you don't have to think about it.
Gear
Ibanez RGR521EX1
Epiphone Masterbilt AJ-500R
Roland Cube
Spider II 30
-Crybaby GCB-95
-SansAmp GT2
-Boss DS-1, RC-2
Yes - these guys are completely correct. Basically practice the song and learn the lyrics so that when singing and playing them independently of each other, you won't need to think. Then practice slowly and build up to the proper tempo. I found when I started singing while playing instruments that easy strumming/chording patterns are much easier to start off with.