Ok, so I've been playing guitar for a couple of months,and I'm feeling like buying a new guitar. At the moment I'm playing just another crappy beginner Strat through my Spider III 75 watts (wich owns). Alright, that's nice, but I'm addicted to metal, and everywhere I hear people say get a guitar with humbuckers, so I thought, lets buy a good guitar with humbuckers (whatever they are) and my eyes immediately fell on the ESP LTD AX. But my mom won't let me buy it, so i thought, heh, what about pimping my nubStrat with a cool pickguard i saw somewhere and humbuckers and make it my own metal guitar?

So my questions are,

What are humbuckers exactly, and whats the difference between them and the singlecoils on my Strat?
Would it be possible to put humbuckers in my nubStrat, or would it be a waste?

Thanks in advance.
Humbuckers are like two singlecoils placed next to each other and they are generally a thicker sounding pickup with less hum.

Yes it would be possible to put humbuckers in. You'd have to change the pickguard but on the plus-side, if you look under the guard, if you have a Squier it's already routed for humbuckers.

However, with the amount of time youve been playing you should'nt worry about that and just play alot. Single coils can sound great in metal but look into pimping it if you know you're going to stick to guitar in the long term.
Ibanez PGM301
Ibanez GRG170DX
Fender Telecaster MiJ - 1986
Swing T-Through

Ibanez TS9DX
Sovtek Small Stone - c.1985
EHX Big Muff
Kimbara Wah - c.1974
Boss GE-7

Orange Rocker 30 Combo

http://www.myspace.com/paythelay
you don't need humbuckers for metal, Kirk Hammett of Metallica has been know to use single coils. You should first figure out what type of wood youe uitar is made out of if it made out of hard wood or something like that it isn't worth moding